

## FACULTY CENTER

1216 East Mabel Street PO Box 210456 Tucson, AZ 85721

Ofc: 520-621-1342 Fax: 520-621-8844

facultygovernance.arizona.edu

On Monday March 27, 2023, at a Special Senate Faculty Meeting, the Faculty Senate of the University of Arizona passed the following resolution. The voting count was 29-Yes, 13-No, and 7-Abstentions.

"The Faculty Senate expresses no confidence in President Robbins and his management team, including the UAPD Chief Balafas, CFO Lisa Rulney, General Counsel Laura Todd Johnson, Dean of Students Kendal Washington White, and Provost Folks for:

- 1. FAILING TO DO DUE DILIGENCE to ensure the safety of the late Professor Thomas Meixner, the Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences faculty, staff, and students, and the campus before Professor Meixner's tragic murder;
- 2. A COMBATIVE, NON-CONSTRUCTIVE RESPONSE to the General Faculty Committee on Safety for All Interim Report and other Faculty Senate attempts to find ways to improve safety and restore broken trust on campus;
- 3. INTENTIONALLY CALLING A PRESS CONFERENCE on the release of the PAX report thirty minutes before a Special Faculty Senate meeting dedicated to the resignation of the General Faculty Committee on Safety for All in which the administration had been allocated time to address elected faculty senate concerns.

We call on the administration to demonstrate progress towards a comprehensive risk management system and accountability by specific personnel actions in the Senior Leadership Team, University of Arizona Police Department, Office of General Counsel and Dean of Students Office, and the initiation of collaborative efforts with shared governance with a timeline and measurable benchmarks for improvement subject to Faculty Senate oversight within the next 30 days.

Please direct inquiries to Chair of the Faculty Leila Hudson at <u>lhudson@arizona.edu</u> or <u>facultycenter@arizona.edu</u>.

